Introducing: Maddie, Administrative and Production Intern

maddie

Hi there! I’m Maddy Swinkin and I am one of the new Administration and Production Interns here at Shakespeare In Action. I am so grateful for this opportunity and could not be more excited to be starting here!  Theatre, Shakespeare, and working with young adults are three of my favourite things, so this position is basically a dream come true.

This past spring I graduated from the University of Toronto Drama Performance Program and completely fell in love with acting and creating performance art. I have a passion for devised theatre, and being able to create something spectacular from just a simple idea. I have worked on multiple shows that used different degrees of devising work, from working with a pre-existing stage script of This Is For You, Anna, to creating a complete theatre adaptation of Virginia Woolf’s Mrs. Dalloway.

More importantly, in my final year in the Drama Program, something shocking and incredible happened, I fell in love with Shakespeare! I had a wonderful teacher who taught me how to understand and appreciate the brilliance of his language. After years of dismissing Shakespeare, I finally have realized how important it is to take the time to hear Shakespeare the way it was meant to be heard, and appreciate the poetry, beauty, and timelessness of his body of work. Right after I graduated I couldn’t get away from Shakespeare, so I performed in a choose-your-own-adventure performance of A Midsummer Night’s Dream, where I played Helena. The show took place indoors and outdoors, and the audience could choose to either watch the play as it was written OR follow any character and find out what happened when there was no Shakespearean script written. It combined devised work and the classic Shakespeare text, so needless to say it was one of my favourite shows to work on and perform!

I also work at the ROM in their Boutique’s, which is a beautiful place to spend my time, and is full of amazing products and wonderful people! I am thrilled to be able to work in such cultural and artistic places as I begin my new life as an actor, artist, creator, and theatre enthusiast!

There is one more reason why Shakespeare in Action drew me in – working with kids and young adults! I have worked in camps for the past 6 summers, and I absolutely love being able to work directly with kids of all ages, I find it one of the most rewarding experiences. I look forward to learning and growing through this internship, and having the chance to work with such an amazing theatre company!

Leave a Reply

