Featured Intern – Genie MacLeod

How now, sweet blogosphere?

My name is Genie, and I am the newest addition to the Shakespeare in Action intern team.

I first fell for the bard at the age of 12, when my parents took me to see a production of Twelfth Night at Vancouver’s Bard on the Beach Shakespeare Festival (a must-visit for fans of Shakespeare and/or scenic ocean views). It was love at first sight, and I’m not (just) talking about the dreamy actor who played Feste. The costumes, the sets, the music, and above all, the words, made my head spin in a delicious confusion. I caught the bard bug then and there, and it’s stuck with me ever since.

After completing a Bachelor’s degree in English and Latin at UBC (with a focus on the complete works of you-know-who), I had the privilege of exploring Shakespeare’s plays with some exceedingly clever and enthusiastic young people as a teaching assistant at Christianne’s Lyceum of Literature and Art in Vancouver.

photo(5)

My dog Stella and my neighbour’s cat Charlie reenact the balcony scene from Romeo and Juliet. I promise I didn’t stage it. No really.

But I wasn’t quite finished with my own study of all things Shakespeare just yet. Since I couldn’t build a time machine to go back and rummage around in 16th and 17th century Britain myself, I did the next best thing I could think of and hopped a plane to England to do a Master’s degree in English Literature of the Early Modern period at Oxford.

I returned from my quest in June, and after a few months at home I decided to move to Toronto to seek out new adventures. I am over the moon to be interning at Shakespeare in Action, where I get to help SIA inspire a new generation of Shakespeare enthusiasts.

Well, that’s me in a nutshell. Until next time, readers!

“Farewell, dear heart, since I must needs be gone.” (Twelfth Night II.iii.102)

Leave a Reply

