What if Shakespeare chose the “safe road” instead?

Shakespeare so often referred to by last name alone…revered as the greatest writer of the English language. It’s hard to believe that at some point he was simply a man named William who was writing. Just a writer.

I got to wondering today, what if Shakespeare chose the safe road? What if he’d never committed to the act and practice of writing. What if he had instead become a glover like his father? The entire English language would be different. There are so many words and phrases that were born of Shakespeare’s creativity.

Little is known about Shakespeare’s early life, resources online say he was neither wealthy nor poor. Still I imagine that making a living as a writer couldn’t have been easy. My feeling is that we observe Shakespeare almost as more of a thing or a concept than an icon or even a person. I guess it’s easy to forget that at one point he too was pursing a career, following a dream, a goal…it makes me smile to think about that…and it makes me wonder, what pursuits am I chasing that could potentially leave an imprint on the world? I think that’s what people call “delusions of grandeur” but for some reason I can’t help but wonder what the world would look like if we all had a little more of what William had? Whatever it was that spurred him on and inspired his writing…The boldness he must have possessed to invent words when he couldn’t find the right word that was known…

The take away for me is: Any one who is great was also once a beginner. And that’s inspiring.

Here’s the trailer from Shakespeare in Love….I know I know, it was mostly a Hollywood-ized love story…But for some reason today the visual image of the man writing Shakespeare before it was “SHAKESPEARE” has put a smile on my face. So I thought I’d share. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

