Shakespeare Challenge – Featured Player, Lindsay Baxter

The Shakespeare Challenge has begun! 10 members of the GTA community have teamed up, are fundraising, and are rehearsing The Tempest with our Founding Artistic Director, Michael Kelly.  They'll all step into the spotlight for the gala performance on Saturday, February 23rd, at the historic Arts & Letters Club of Toronto.All proceeds support access to the arts through Shakespeare in Action's ticket subsidy program, TD Shakespeare for Kids Library Club, and Shakespeare Fight Club.Meet Shakespeare Challenge participant, Lindsay Baxter!To support Lindsay, click here!

The Shakespeare Challenge has begun! 11 members of the GTA community have teamed up, are fundraising, and are rehearsing The Tempest with our Founding Artistic Director, Michael Kelly.

They’ll all step into the spotlight for the gala performance on Saturday, February 23rd, at the historic Arts & Letters Club of Toronto.

All proceeds support access to the arts through Shakespeare in Action’s ticket subsidy program, TD Shakespeare for Kids Library Club, and Shakespeare Fight Club.

Meet Shakespeare Challenge participant, Lindsay Baxter!

To support Lindsay, click here!

 

LINDSAY BAXTER – At the age of ten, Lindsay was placed in theatre classes in an attempt to combat her debilitating shyness.  After graduating from McMaster University with a Combined Honours degree in English and History and a Masters in History from York University, Lindsay suddenly changed directions and attended a conservatory program for acting at Humber College.  Memorable extracurricular roles include Second Witch in Macbeth, Juliet in Romeo and Juliet, Marie in L’etranger and an ignorant white person in a MuchMusic PSA for Black History Month.  Lindsay would like to dedicate this performance to her beloved AFTV classmates (who she cannot praise enough) and to offer her admiration to her brave Tempest cast mates – Lindsay knows first-hand how terrifying it is to be on stage for the first time.

Why are you taking The Shakespeare Challenge?
Well one of the reasons I joined was because I love Shakespeare, and I love Shakespeare for a lot of different reasons.  First off, performing Shakespeare is a huge challenge, often like performing in another language.  You can’t just rely on the words you’re speaking to get your point across – you really have to go that extra mile to convey your meaning, both to the audience and to your fellow actors.  But once you get the hang of the language, it is some of the most beautiful, clever and poignant language in the whole world.  Where else can one sound so lovely than on a stage performing Shakespeare’s works?  400 years later and Shakespeare’s ideas, phrases and situations are still relevant.

The other reason I wanted to join was because theatre changed my life when I was ten, and it continues to change my life today.  I was painfully shy well into my teens, but local theatre classes provided me with a voice.  I learned to communicate on a meaningful level, both on stage and in general everyday life.  Theatre allowed me to learn how to express myself, and that is something that I will be forever thankful for.  Today, theatre allows me to access parts of my personality that I didn’t even know I had.  It also allows me to meet so many talented, unique and interesting individuals, people that have enriched my life in so many ways.  I feel that every adolescent should have access to the opportunities that theatre has afforded me because it really is life-altering.

What’s your favourite sweet treat?
I love gummy bears.

Help Lindsay achieve her goal by donating to her Giving Page:
http://www.canadahelps.org/GivingPages/GivingPage.aspx?gpID=22067

Leave a Reply

