Shakespeare Challenge – Featured Player, Ora Ross

The Shakespeare Challenge has begun! 10 members of the GTA community have teamed up, are fundraising, and are rehearsing The Tempest with our Founding Artistic Director, Michael Kelly.  They'll all step into the spotlight for the gala performance on Saturday, February 23rd, at the historic Arts & Letters Club of Toronto.All proceeds support access to the arts through Shakespeare in Action's ticket subsidy program, TD Shakespeare for Kids Library Club, and Shakespeare Fight Club.Meet Shakespeare Challenge participant, Ora Ross!To support Ora, click here!

The Shakespeare Challenge has begun! 10 members of the GTA community have teamed up, are fundraising, and are rehearsing The Tempest with our Founding Artistic Director, Michael Kelly.

They’ll all step into the spotlight for the gala performance on Saturday, February 23rd, at the historic Arts & Letters Club of Toronto.

All proceeds support access to the arts through Shakespeare in Action’s ticket subsidy program, TD Shakespeare for Kids Library Club, and Shakespeare Fight Club.

Meet Shakespeare Challenge participant, Ora Ross!

To support Ora, click here!

 

ORA ROSS – I had a pretty smooth childhood hanging around North York and North Toronto – always looking for centre stage wherever that might be….

One of my many jobs was in an animal clinic where, while selling an array of flea products to a client, I was advised I might make a good real estate sales person.

I laughed, “Ha!”

A few short years later, I realized that a career with ‘flex hours’ would be perfect and would allow me all the time I needed to pursue my passion for acting and singing.

As it turned out, the real estate business quickly became a busy full-time career and now my partner and I have 2 Realtors and one admin. working with us on our team and we are among the top 70 Realtors in the entire board!

Today, I always find ways to get involved and give back to the community. For the last 8 years, I have volunteered as choir director in public schools in my area – meeting the kids each week and getting them to participate in festivals and concerts. I call this my ‘hour of sanity each week.’

When I think back to school all I can remember is choir, band and drama class – so I make every effort to create those lasting loving memories for the kids I get to work with! Performing in The Shakespeare Challenge is truly a personal challenge and I love the cause.

 

Help Ora achieve her goal by donating to her Giving Page:
http://www.canadahelps.org/GivingPages/GivingPage.aspx?gpID=21685

Leave a Reply

