Featured Intern – Linda Nicoll

 

Hi everyone! My name is Linda Nicoll and I’m from Dublin, Ireland.  I moved over to Toronto in June on a one year working holiday visa.  I’m unbelievably excited about starting my internship at Shakespeare in Action 🙂

Shakespeare and the performing arts are my main passions in life.  I started performing at the age of 2 and a half (see photo of my performance debut where I’m really working that chicken costume!) I trained as an actor and a dancer and studied Performance at Drama College in Dublin and studied Commedia dell ‘Arte in Padua, Italy.  I then moved to London where I did a degree in Drama.  The course was 50% practical – performing, devising and directing, while the other 50% was spent researching and writing.  I  mostly specialized in Classical Theatre, but I also co-founded a physical theatre devising company, which we ran for 2 years exploring feminist theory and theatre practice.  I then did a Master’s Degree in Shakespeare Studies at King’s College London and The Globe Theatre, which was an amazing year investigating Early Modern Drama practically and theoretically.

I also work with a community based performing arts company in Dublin and have done so for many years.  I teach and choreograph a variety of modern dance styles and write and direct drama and musical theatre performances for theatrical shows.  I’m very passionate about working with young people and using the arts to inspire and empower – helping the students to gain in confidence and find a means to express themselves.

The work Shakespeare in Action do is so inspiring.  I’d been following the company before I came to Toronto and getting the opportunity to work with them for the next nine months is really a dream come true for me.  I’m so excited and grateful to be given this incredible chance to immerse myself in the  role and learn the ropes from this amazing company.

After Shakespeare, theatre and books, my next passion is quite bizarrely Formula 1 racing.  I’m a little bit obsessed actually!! Even as a young girl I was a ballet dancing tom boy… and loved anything you could drive – even tractors!

I came to Canada in June with two major goals – try and get a position with Shakespeare in Action and go to the Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal – so now I can say I’ve realized both my dreams 🙂

Leave a Reply

