Monday Mystery: Match Maker

Shakespeare deals a lot with love. Love, marriage and in the comedies, often misguided love. Can you identify the speaker and then pair up the lines of text with their corresponding lover?

For example, who says…

A: “Mine ear, I think it, brought me to thy sound.”
B: “O, Speak again, bright angel!”
C: “Say that you love me not, but say not so In bitterness.”
D: “What angel wakes me from my flowery bed?”
E: “My ears have not yet drunk a hundred words Of that tongue’s utterance, yet I know the sound:”

F: “Come not near me. And when that time comes, Afflict me with thy mocks, pity me not, As till that time I shall not pity thee.”
G:  “Hang off, thou cat, thou burr! Vile thing, let loose;”

H: “Methinks, mistress, you should have little reason for that.”

Once you’ve identified the speaker, find the text of their corresponding “lover” and identify them! Note: the “response” to each quote does not necessarily come directly after that line, it may appear further down in the scene, but is a response or line directed at their “lover”. Can you play match maker with these 8 lovers from 3 of Shakespeare’s plays?

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

