Featured Intern: Emma

Hi! My name is Emma and I joined the intern team here at Shakespeare in Action but three weeks ago! It’s a bit like jumping into the lion’s pen, except with far more friendly lions. I’ve been learning a great deal, getting my hands dirty and having so much fun. It’s hard to believe I’m only in my third week here!

Some of the other interns have talked about what they were like when they were younger. I spent most of my days dreaming away. My desires for the future would change as often as the days did! In the end I discovered my love for words could actually lead to a career! I’ve been writing since I was very young. My mum has a photo of me around age 3 sitting at the back of the garden writing. I’m shooting for a career in writing, be that for film or theatre or books, so we’ll see what happens.

Here’s a photo of me as a young’un. I grew up in England so the uniform was a part of my daily life until I was 16. It saved having to find something to wear in the morning. I’m sitting on the front row, far left, blue shoes! I thought they were pretty dandy; in fact, I bought similar teal shoes a bit later on in life so I think I might have a thing for blue shoes. Pretty dandy long socks too, right? I was a fashionista! (haha!)

Shakespeare has been a huge part of my development as a person! I studied Hamlet, Macbeth, Romeo & Juliet, A Midsummer Night’s Dream and more at school (what can I say, we Brits love Shakespeare!). I also played Ferdinand in The Tempest at school (it was an all girl’s grammar so there were no boys!). It was hugely intimidating but so much fun. To this day it’s one of my favourite of Shakespeare’s plays, although I have to say Macbeth takes the top spot. There’s nothing like a bit of murder, witchcraft and ghosts.

Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

